Flagfox 6.0.2 and 5.2.4 updates released

Flagfox 6.0.2 for Firefox 57+ has been released and is available for update and download from AMO. (Firefox 56 has partial support and this update may be downloaded and installed manually) Flagfox 5.2.4 has also been released for Firefox 52 ESR, SeaMonkey, and Firefox forks based on older Gecko versions (or at least anything newer than Firefox 24). Mozilla has banned legacy XUL/XPCOM addons on AMO, thus you’ll need to install it manually after downloading it here. The installer is not signed, thus you will need to set xpinstall.signatures.required=false in about:config (Firefox 52 ESR required; will not work in 56). Note that dual branch updates like this will not be provided indefinitely. I will re-evaluate whether to continue after the Firefox 52 ESR EOL.

Flagfox 6.0.2 changelog:

  • IPv4 & IPv6 address location database updates for February 2018
  • Added ability to handle raw IPs when webRequest API provides no IP
  • Minor optimizations
  • Minor JS updates to use some newer syntax, where applicable
  • Tweaked startup to ensure there’s always at least one menu item enabled
  • Reverted crossed-out HTTPS tag to “INSECURE HTTP” due to issues on some platforms

Flagfox 5.2.4 changelog:

  • IPv4 & IPv6 address location database updates for February 2018

I had originally intended to backport a specific bugfix for drag/drop functionality in the options dialog from 6.0.x to handle a changed API, but I was pleasantly surprised to find that Mozilla had actually fixed the compatibility breakage on their end in the interim, at least for the time being. (Unfortunately, I discovered this only after I went to write and test it, thus wasting some time…) Please only use the latest Firefox ESR release.

Note that Firefox forks that are not based on Firefox 52 ESR or Firefox 57+ are not considered fully supported, though they should probably work fine, for now. (meaning I will not be fixing fork-specific bugs in 5.2.x) It is highly recommended you stop using anything based on such old code as soon as possible. Forks that do not eventually implement proper WebExtension support will not be supported indefinitely. Official SeaMonkey support may be re-added in the future once they have full WebExtension support (aka aren’t based on Firefox 52 ESR anymore). Continuing to support legacy addons in addition to WebExtensions is one thing, but asking developers to continue supporting two completely different APIs forever is extremely unrealistic.

Edit: Flagfox 5.2.x ESR downloads & hashes moved to a new dedicated page. Link updated.

11 thoughts on “Flagfox 6.0.2 and 5.2.4 updates released

    • As I said in the first paragraph, Mozilla has banned the upload of XUL/XPCOM updates to AMO, thus I linked to it above, instead. I’ve made the links a little larger to make it not as easy to miss (I previously just linkified the “here” which I guess wasn’t enough).

    • Both branches have the same ID, so installing any one version replaces the previously installed one. It won’t auto-update from 5.2.4 to any future 5.2.5, unfortunately, as I haven’t set up a custom update mechanism to replace AMO’s standard update mechanism (that’s banned for legacy addons).

  1. I’ve tried downloading this update in FF (52.6.0 ESR), IE & Cr but I just get bumped to a URL ending /invalidSession without downloading the file.

    • (By “this update”, I’m assuming you mean the 5.2.x update, as apposed to the 6.0.x update. If you meant the 6.0.x update, that’d be an issue you need to contact Mozilla support for.)

      That’s strange. I just did a quick test, and I can download 5.2.4 fine. My first thought would be some addon you have installed breaking things, but if two other browsers show the same issue, I suspect that’s not the case. Maybe some junk antivirus on your computer that intercepts/breaks filehost domains? If you try disabling any A/V and it still doesn’t work… I’m not quite sure what else it could be, other than maybe your IP being blacklisted for some strange reason. If you can’t get it to work at all, reply here again and I’ll upload a mirror elsewhere.

Comments are closed.